In the News

AARC Names Representatives to Joint Commission PTAC

January 29, 2009

At the request of The Joint Commission (TJC), the AARC has nominated two long-time members to serve on the accrediting organization’s Ambulatory Care Professional Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC).

Michael Hewitt, RRT-NPS, FAARC, FCCM, will serve as representative, and Suzanne Bollig, BS, RRT, RPSGT, REEGT, as alternate representative, on the Ambulatory Care PTAC. AARC members Joseph Lewarski, BS, RRT, FAARC, and Robert McCoy, RRT, FAARC, currently serve as representative and alternate representative, respectively, on the Home Care PTAC, while Rebecca L. Meredith, BS, RRT, and David L. Vines, MHS, RRT, serve as representative and alternate representative, respectively, on the Laboratory PTAC.

AARC Executive Director Sam Giordano, MBA, RRT, FAARC, serves as a liaison to all three groups.

TJC PTACs are designed to advise each accreditation program on proposed standards changes. While each of these influential groups is largely comprised of individuals nominated by selected professional associations, most also include public or consumer group representation as well.

Michael Hewitt is director of respiratory care, pulmonary diagnostics, and sleep and neurology at Peninsula Regional Medical Center in Salisbury, MD. He has presented several OPEN FORUM abstracts at the AARC International Respiratory Congress and is a regular speaker at respiratory care meetings around the country. Hewitt currently serves as chair of the AARC’s Adult Acute Care Specialty Section.

Suzanne Bollig manages the Sleep and Neurodiagnostic Institute in the Center for Health Improvement at Hays Medical Center in Hays, KS. She has published numerous articles on sleep topics and has lectured widely on sleep to groups around the country, including at the AARC Congress.

Print this | E-mail this | More News | RSS Feed