AARC.org In the News

Northeastern Members Can Access AARC Disaster Relief Fund

Bookmark and Share

October 30, 2012

The AARC has activated its Disaster Relief Fund for AARC members who sustained property loss or damage as a result of Hurricane Sandy that hit in the northeastern parts of the U.S. The states covered by this alert are New Jersey, New York, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Connecticut, Delaware, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania and District of Columbia, as federally declared disaster areas by FEMA.

Members who have suffered such a loss may apply for a grant of up to $500, either online or by mail using our downloadable application form. Applications will be reviewed at the AARC executive office, and will then be sent on to the president of the state society for verification and a recommendation of action.

Please note that those applying for funds may experience a minor delay in communications from the AARC, due to AARC Congress 2012, which staff and some state society leadership are attending beginning next week.

The AARC Disaster Relief Fund was established in 1992 and may be activated at the time of any federally declared disaster. It has been used following hurricanes in Florida and Hawaii, earthquakes and fires in California, flooding in the Midwestern states, tornadoes in numerous areas of the country, and during the Katrina disaster. The Disaster Fund is open for six months from the date of the disaster.

The fund is all about AARC members helping members.

If you would like to contribute to the AARC’s Disaster Relief Fund, you can donate by sending a check made payable to the AARC at 9425 N. MacArthur Blvd., Suite 100, Irving, TX 75063. Put “Disaster Fund” in the memo section of the check. You can also donate online or call the AARC’s Customer Service Department and tell them you want to make a donation with a credit card.